Teaching spelling

This forum has been created to provide a non-challenging environment for teachers and parents new to using synthetic phonics.

Judy

Teaching spelling

Post by Judy » Tue Nov 20, 2007 2:47 pm

As there have been several discussions on the topic of teaching spelling alternatives, I thought this article might be of interest.

http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_q ... 99220/pg_1

It seems to make sense to me but I am relatively new to this so would welcome any comments, paticularly in relation to remedial teaching.

Judy

Post by Judy » Fri Nov 23, 2007 1:38 pm

From page 3 of this article -
In English, introducing all or even several of the spelling choices for a particular sound simultaneously overwhelms most students.
This is what I have found. But I believe some programmes adopt this approach and obviously, if it is successful, it will move things along more quickly. Has anyone found a way to do this without 'overwhelming' their students?

FEtutor

Post by FEtutor » Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:03 pm

Hi Judy
It may depend on what exactly is meant by "introducing spelling choices". With my adult students, for reading purposes, I'll happily introduce all the different ways a sound is spelt and they are not overwhelmed, but find it illuminating.
But, when it comes to learning to spell a set of words, I usually get them to choose, week by week, a selection of useful words with just one way of spelling a particular sound (plus, maybe, some words with entirely different or just basic code sounds/ spellings). Now I think of it, though, with a (very) few students I have tried daft sentences containing all or most of the choices- eg In a note I told him to take a coat to stop the snow getting on his shoulders and toes- that sort of thing. OK, maybe it was just one very able, determined student.

Judy

Post by Judy » Sat Nov 24, 2007 11:19 am

Thank you for your reply, FEtutor.